Last Posting Dates & Public Holidays for Christmas 2018

The last posting dates for pre-Christmas delivery are now available for all of our mail services. Whether you are mailing to the UK or internationally you will find the relevant last posting dates that we can dispatch mail for pre-Christmas delivery below. Please be aware that these are estimates only and to ensure pre-Christmas delivery, the items should be provided to us for posting at the earliest available opportunity.

You will also find a list of worldwide public holidays for the Christmas period. These you be taken into consideration when referring to the generalised last posting dates for pre-Christmas delivery.

To discuss the posting dates of your mailing in more detail please contact our team on 01444 871111.

Estimated Last Posting Dates for Pre-Christmas Delivery


All Services

Thursday 13th December – Royal Mail Economy Sorted

Monday 17th December – DSA Unsorted

Tuesday 18th December – DSA Sorted, Royal Mail 2nd Class Unsorted, Royal Mail 2nd Class Sorted

Thursday 20th December – Royal Mail 1st Class Unsorted, Royal Mail 1st Class Sorted

Friday 21st December – Royal Mail Special Delivery Saturday Guaranteed



Priority Service

Monday 3rd December – Rest of World

Wednesday 5th December – Canada, USA

Monday 10th December – Rest of Europe

Thursday 13th December – Western Europe


Non-Priority Service

Wednesday 28th November – Rest of World

Friday 30th November – Canada, USA

Wednesday 5th December – Rest of Europe

Monday 10th December – Western Europe


Public Holidays over the Christmas Period

December 1st – Central African Republic, Chad, India (regional), Mexico, Portugal, Romania
December 2nd – India (regional), Myanmar, UAE
December 3rd – India (regional), Kazakhstan, Laos, New Zealand (regional), Spain (regional), UAE

December 4th – Tonga
December 5th – India (regional), Thailand

December 6th – Ecuador (regional), Finland, Italy (regional), Spain

December 7th – East Timor, Ghana, India (regional), Italy (regional)

December 8th – Albania, Macedonia, Maldives, Panama, Uzbekistan, Various (Immaculate Conception day)

December 9th – Antigua, Tanzania
December 10th –
Cambodia, Iraq, Macau (Government/public sector only), Thailand
December 11th – Burkina Faso, Malaysia (regional)

December 12th – India (regional), Kenya, Mexico, Turkmenistan, 

December 13th – Malta, Saint Lucia
December 16th – Bahrain, Bangladesh, South Africa
December 17th – Bahrain, Kazakhstan, South Africa

December 18th – India (regional), Kazakhstan, Niger, Qatar
December 19th – Anguilla, India (regional)

December 20th – Macau
December 22nd – Macau, Nigeria (regional), Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe
December 23rd – Japan

December 24th – Japan, Indonesia, Libya, Portugal
December 25th – Pakistan, Various (Christmas Day)

December 26th – Australia (regional), Slovenia, Swaziland, Various
December 27th – India (regional), North Korea, Pakistan (regional)

December 29th – Mongolia
December 30th – India (regional), Philippines
December 31st – Azerbaijan, East Timor, Switzerland (regional), Taiwan, Various (New Year’s Eve)
January 1st – Cuba, Czech Republic, Haiti, Slovakia, Various (New Year’s Day)

January 2nd – Cuba, Haiti, Switzerland (regional), Various (New Year’s Holiday)
January 3rd – Burkina Faso, Russia, Various (New Year’s Holiday)
January 4th – DR Congo, Myanmar, Russia, (New Year’s Holiday)
January 5th – Armenia
January 6th – Armenia, Iraq (regional), Lebanon, Myanmar, Various (Epiphany)
January 7th – Cambodia, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Sudan, Various (Orthodox Christmas Day)
January 8th – Various (Orthodox Christmas Holiday)


< Back to News